Home > History for UPSC Exams > The Revolt of 1857 > Major Events in Revolt of 1857

Major Events in Revolt of 1857

Summarized View of Major Events in the Revolt of 1857


Major Events

22 Jan, 1857

 New cartridges cause concern amongst sepoys at Dum Dum

Jan- Mar, 1857

 Greased cartridges cause unrest. Berhampore and Barrackpore see outbreaks. Chapaties and lotus passed from village to village as a symbollic message.

11 May, 1857

 Rebels reach Delhi and proclaim Bahadur Shah Zafar as Emperor and their leader.

31 May, 1857

 Khan Bahadur Khan, a government pensioner takes the lead, and is proclaimed ruler under the King of Delhi. Moradabad and Shahjahanpur see a revolt and rebels attack Christians at the latter. The native regiments are disarmed in Agra

3 Jun, 1857

 Abbas Ali proclaims himself the ruler in Moradabad.

6 Jun, 1857

 Nana Sahib joins the rebels and is proclaimed Peshwa. Revolt at Jhansi, Europeans massacred. Revolt in Azamgarh.

8 Jun, 1857

 Battle of Badle ki serai in Delhi.

11 Jun, 1857

 Brigadier General James Neill arrives at Allahabad. Jhansi rebels leave for Delhi.

12 Jun, 1857

 Nana Sahib massacres over Europeans fugitives from Fatehgarh at Bithur.

15 Jun, 1857

 Wajid Ali Shah of Awadh imprisoned in Fort William, Calcutta.

16 Jun, 1857

 Maulvi Liaqat Ali flees Allahabad. Nawab’s rule proclaimed at Fatehgarh.

27 Jun, 1857

 Massacre at Satichaura Ghat, Kanpur. 

30 Jun, 1857

 British defeated at Chinhat ; Bulandshahr captured by Walidad Khan.

2 Jul, 1857

 Bakht Khan arrives in Delhi with the Bareilly brigade

4 Jul, 1857

 European fugitives from Fatehgarh and Farrukhabad masacred at Rampore. Sir Henry Lawrence dies in the Lucknow Residency.

7 Jul – 31 Jul, 1857

 Fatehpur occupied by Havelock.
 Bibighar massacre at Kanpur.
 Nana Sahib defeated by Havelock at Fatehpur, and First Battle of Kanpur.
 Havelock enters Kanpur and Nana Sahib retreats to Bithur.
 Siege of Arrah House.
 Parade Ground Massacre at Farruckhabad (Fatehpur).
 Havelock defeats rebels at Unnao.
  A large rebel force from Mhow and Indore arrives at Gwalior

5 Aug, 1857

 Havelock defeats the rebels at Bashiratganj. Kunwar Singh proclaims himself as King of Shahbad.

17 Aug, 1857

 Sir Colin Campbell becomes British Commander-in- Chief.

14 Sept, 1857

 British assaults on Delhi start

20 Sept, 1857

 Delhi conqured by British

21 Sept, 1857

 Bahadur Shah Zafar captured at Humayun’s Tomb by Captain Hodson.

22 Sept, 1857

 Hodson murders Mughal Princes.

17 Nov, 1857

 Lucknow Residency releived by Campbell. Outram at the Alambagh; rebels see his withdrawal from Awadh as a great victory.

24 Nov, 1857

 Havelock dies of dysentery

27 Nov, 1857

 Gwalior Contingent attacks Nawabganj (Unnao). British retreat

3 Dec, 1857

 Campbell sends rescued women and sick from Lucknow Residency to Allahabad.

6 Dec, 1857

 Tatya Tope defeated in the third battle of Kanpur by Campbell

6 Jan – 14 Jan, 1858

 Fatehgarh reclaimed by British. Sir Hugh Rose launches the operation in Central India.
 Bahadur Shah Zafar is tried at The Red Fort in Delhi.
  Laxmi Bai issues a proclamation against the British

17 Mar, 1858

 Brigadier Stuart attacks Chanderi. Kunwar Singh wins Battle of Atraulia.

21 Mar, 1858

 Rose reaches Jhansi.

1 Apr, 1858

 Tatya Tope loses Battle of Betwa

3 Apr, 1858

 Jhansi captured by British

5 Apr, 1858

 Jhansi fort taken by the British. Rani, with her step-son, reaches Kunch.

17 Apr, 1858

 British forces attack Kunwar Singh near Azamgarh.

18 Apr, 1858

 Battle of Banda.

26 Apr, 1858

 Kunwar Singh dies

6 May, 1858

 Battle of Bareilly, included the famous change of the Ghazis of whom 133 were bayonettled. Bareilly taken but rebel leaders escaped.

8 May, 1858

 Tatya Tope defeated in Battle of Kunch by Rose

11 May, 1858

 Amar Singh defeated but manages to escape. Battle of Shahjahpur.

22 May, 1858

 Battle of Kalpi, armory captured by British under Rose

25 May, 1858

 Hamirpur falls to the British

1 Jun, 1858

 Rani of Jhansi, Rao Sahib and Tatya Tope capture Gwalior, occupy Lushkar and Gwalior fort. Madho Singh captured by Rose.

12 Jun, 1858

 Battle of Nawabganj; Sir Hope Grant wins Awadh. Amar Singh returns to Buxar. Khan Bahadur Khan attacks Shahjanpur.

15 Jun, 1858

 Maulvi Ahmadullah Shah is killed while attacking

16 Jun, 1858

 Battle of Morar

17 Jun, 1858

 Battle of Kota-Ki- Serai; Rani of Jhansi dies in the battle-field

19 Jun, 1858

 Gwalior falls to British

20 Jun, 1858

 Gwalior fort captured by Rose. Battle of Jaora. Scindia returns to Gwalior.

5 Jul, 1858

 Banpur Raja surrenders

1 Nov, 1858

 Queen Victoria’s abolishes the rule of the East India Company in India.

25 Nov, 1858

 Raja of Gonda defeated by Sir Patrick Grant, Gonda occupied.

Dec, 1858

 Bihar rebels finally dispersed.

7 Jan, 1859

 Awadh rebellion ends

7 Apr, 1859

 Khan Bahadur Khan, Begum of Awadh, Nana Sahib and Birjis Qadr flee to fort of Niacote in Nepal.

8 Apr, 1859

 Tatya Tope captured by British.

18 Apr, 1859

 Tatya Tope hanged.

20 Apr, 1859

 Nana Sahib sends 'Ishtiharnama' to Queen Victoria

8 Jul, 1859

 British declare State of peace.

24 Sept, 1859

 Nana Sahib dies

Dec, 1859

 Amar Singh captured in the Terai by Jung Bahadur’s troops.

9 Dec, 1859

 Khan Bahadur Khan captured

24 Feb, 1860

 Khan Bahadur Khan hanged.

3 May, 1860

 Jwala Prasad hanged at Satichaura Ghat, the massacre site.